Motivational Mondays #76

Matt 19 14

Children’s Ministry

Over the past 4 years, I am been working towards a career in Children’s Ministry. Since a young age, I have felt called to serve in this vital ministry. Two years ago I have completed a certificate program for Lay Ministry. I have decided it’s time to continue with my studies and enroll in a second certificate program. I think it will give me the focus and motivation I need to step into the next stage of my life.

I have recently applied for a job as a Children and Family Pastor. While I don’t think I stand a chance based off my lack education and experience, I am still excited at the possibly of starting a new life within a new church and in a new city. The church is exactly what I have been praying for and I would be honored to serve in it. If I don’t receive the position, I am still considering moving to the city in order to raise my daughters in this church. For the first time in a long time I feel hopefully for the future. It has rekindled a passion in me and has redirected my mind to focus on my vision for the future instead of focusing on the past and present. As part of the application I wrote a Philosophy for Children and Family Ministry. It reminded me of what is truly important in my life – serving the Lord. Here it is for you:

Philosophy for Children and Family Ministry

My philosophy for Children and Family Ministry can be easily summed up by Matthew 19:14, Proverbs 22:6 and Deuteronomy 6:7.

I have built my program around the philosophy “Let the children come to me”. I believe that church should be a welcoming and inviting place for children. They should feel as if it is a second home – a place where they can be themselves, make strong friendships, learn about the bible and Christian virtues and develop their gifts and talents. They should be nurtured and supported at all times, while being challenged to grow in their faith and as a person. I believe that parents should be comfortable coming to me to assist them with personal circumstances. I offer my time and support to families during the program as well as outside of church.

I feel it is extremely important for children to build strong roots in their faith. If we “train up a child in the way he should go” they will be secure in their faith as they become adults. They will have developed the skills and virtues they need to become leaders – guiding the next generation in their faith. Families require the same support. Parents should be given the resources and support they need to foster a healthy Christian home, where prayer and bible study become a part of their everyday life.

It is important for the leaders in a church to be strong representatives of Christ. Children are always watching and looking up to us. While it is great to teach by our words, it is our actions that will have the greatest impact on their lives. We need to teach evangelism through our daily lives. We should speak openly about our faith and allow the love of Christ to been seen through our actions. As a parent, I feel that it is important to teach our children the ways of Christ from a young age. We should pray with them and for them and re-insure them of Christ’s love every day –from morning to night.

If we keep these three verses as a priority in ministering to children and families, we will build a welcoming and supportive environment where families can develop and strengthen their faith.

I am anxiously awaiting word from the church and I hope to hear back within the next two weeks.  Any prayers or positive thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Can I pray for you? Is there something happening in your life that you need support for? Please share in the comments and we can pray for you as a community. 

Coming Up This Week!

Slow Cooker Tuesday: Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna

Lil Ones Fun Wednesday: Handprint Xray Fish

30-Minute Thursday: Turkey Cobb Roll-Ups

Forget the Meat Friday: Crash Hot Potatoes

Sweet Saturday: Carrot Cake

Extras Sunday: Square Foot Gardening

Bible Readings: 1 Samuel 10-12, Luke 9:37-62

Leave a comment